I had to come to a decision about horses recently. From both a time and money perspective, I am phasing out of horses for myself. My wife will still maintain her level of activity. Because of work and family obligations, being almost 50 and the sole family monetary provider, horses have become more of a job than a passion. This is not new, It's been going on a quite a while and I've been thinking about it seriously for about two years. I am going to sell the 5 yr old gelding since he needs to be ridden 5 times a week at least and I'm lucky if I can ride 3 times a week. The old guy (26) is going nowhere but he will continue to be used as a kid's lesson horse. The trainer will pay for 1/2 his upkeep. If I need a horse fix, and I surely will, I can get on him or my wife's 7 yr old horse any time I want. Actually, my wife would like it if I trained him on trail some. This was not an easy decision for me, I've been heavily into riding and showing horses for over 20 years but one I'm pretty sure it's the best all around.
So, there it is in a nutshell. I'm still here and I'm trying to cope with everything as best I can. You can't get rid of me that easy. I almost feel like what Rocky Balboa said to his son in the last Rocky movie. Something about it's not about getting punched. It's about taking the punch and still moving forward.
Oh, and I hope David Cook wins American Idol. I can't stand David Archuletta and I think Syesha Mercado was this year's Rodney Dangerfield. She got no respect. And, do you think Amber is going to croak on House and what the hell was she doing on the bus with House?
